Press Releases


The Ohio Health Information Partnership hosted an event called Patient Care: Connecting the Dots on April 26 where it brought together people in health care from practice managers and hospital CEOs to public health officials.

During this event, National Deputy Director Judy Murphy presented 13 awards on behalf of The Partnership to those who have made a diference to health IT in Ohio this past year.

She presented The Above and Beyond Award to Dr. James Johns, and his wife and practive manager Donna Johns, for using all the services offered by The Partnership and then sharing their story to help other doctors going through the same process.

The West Central Ohio Health Information Exchange recieved the HIE Trendsetter Award for paving the way as the first community to join CliniSync, Ohio's statewide health information exchange.

Dr. Gregg Alexander of Madison Pediatrics in London, Ohio, received the Super Doc Award for his undying support of The Partnership and for progressive environment he has created in his office.

The Meaningful Use Innovator Award went to Rob Strohl of Central Ohio Primary Care Physicians, which is the second largest physician group in the U.S. He received the award for his federal work on the ONC Meaningful Use Burning Issues Community of Practice and for using this experience to help physicians having problems with their EHR systems.

Dr. Kathryn Boehm received the Trendsetter Award for being the first physician to sign up for Regional Extension Center Services in fall 2010 for her office in Toledo, Ohio.

Marcia Blue of Norwalk Family Practice in Norwalk, Ohio, helped six providers in her practice receive a Medicare incentive check in October 2011, making her the Practice Manager Wizard awardee.

The HIT Hospital Leadership Award for Medicare went to MedCentral Health System in Mansfield, Ohio, for being the first hospital to receive a Medicare incentive check for the system, which has 225 physicians and 2,600 employees.

Dayton Children's Medical Center was the first to receive a Medicaid incentive check for their staff's work in caring for an average of 275,000 children per year, making it the winner of the HIT Hospital Leadership Award for Medicaid.

Andy Daniels of Avita Health System received the Rural Health Champion Award for his work helping critical access hospitals implement EHRs.

Four students received Outstanding Student Awards for their training in HIT through the Midwest Community College HIT Consortium: Elizabeth Marsh of Columbus State Community College; Andrew Katona of Cincinnati State Community College; RobertReedy of Sinclair Community College; and Geneva Foster of Cuyahoga Community College.

Congratulations to all the winners of The Partnership's 2012 health IT awards!